make office 2010/2007 look like office 2003 (menu style)

Here is a small guide on how to get office 2010 to look and feel like office 2003 and prior. Here is a screenshot of my word 2010. (click on the picture to see it fullscreen)


we all know that new office 2010 has a new feature “ribbons” which has totally changed the look-n-feel of office applications.

but a few people don’t like the new ribbons. they are very much used to the good old classic menubar and toolbar. if you also don’t like the new ribbon UI and want to get back the standard Menubar and toolbar, this article will definitely help you.

we are sharing 2 small freeware which help in getting standard menubar and toolbar back in microsoft office 2010:

classic menu…

Classic Menu for Office 2010 brings back the familiar menus and toolbars to Microsoft Office 2010. The software allows you to work with Office 2010 as if it were Office 2003.

features…

  • Easy to install, uninstall and use.
  • Easy to show or hide tabs on the Ribbon.
  • Easy to show or hide the classic menus and toolbars.
  • Quickly find and execute the command that you want.
  • Original shortcuts are available. Press Alt-Q-Q, and you can use the familiar keyboard shortcuts again.
  • The Office 2010 icons and controls on the ribbon are available at all times.

and finally, here is what you need to achieve this…

download here for 2010

download here for 2007

developers homepage
once you have downloaded it, install the application and it will open up, what i did was to “check all” the boxes for word, excel and powerpoint to get what you see in the screenshot. here is another example…


63 responses to “make office 2010/2007 look like office 2003 (menu style)

  1. No problem. I know the link for the 2007 one doesnt work, I will hopefully fix that soon. But if you just go to the developers website, you can get both versions.

    I work with it at my work and people love it! (as do I)

  2. What Systems? I am running Windows 7 64 bit and Office 2010 64bit. Will this work for me?

  3. I am running the same config at home, if you look at the screenshot, thats actually my system, which is windows 7 64-bit and office 2010 64-bit.

  4. i use both open office and microsoft office and i would say that microsoft office is more responsive and user friendly .*,

  5. thank you so much! your program is very useful for people that are eager to know how to change menu style like office 2003.

  6. Pingback: [MS Office - 2010] Office 2010 Menu change·

  7. Hi, I have been reading the comments on the site and would like to ask the following:
    I am about to take the International Computer Driving License course which is only available here in Office 2003. Will this download effectively turn my version of Office 2010 into Office 2003 for this purpose???
    I look forward to hearing your comments.

  8. I have hated the ‘ribbon’ feature since I learnt about it, it is what made me decide not to use the new Office, I regrettably had to upgrade from my beloved Office 97 to 2003 but never went further because of this dimb ribbon feature, this little beauty has changed all that- thanks man….

  9. Hi, after installtion of OfficeMenu2010-Free32.exe.
    The menu style can st only in Excel, Word and PP. What is with outlook 2010. There are no posibility to setup Outlook? what’s going on???

    Thx
    Mikka

  10. Hi Mikka, this “fix” doesnt apply to Outlook 2010. it’s only for excel/word/powerpoint.

    Ask the developers to help you! :)

  11. What I want is a way to get the Office 2010 apps to respect the window styles that I set in Windows XP (we still use Windows XP where I work). I’ve customized the XP window borders and title bars, but Office 2010 does not respect those settings. That has caused me to close the wrong window more than once.

    Is there any way to do that either through Office settings or the Windows control panel?

    Thanks for any help,
    Steve

  12. Thank you for posting… Fabulous app! Hope you add Outlook one day!

  13. The free version of Classic Menu for Office 2010 only includes Word, Excel, PowerPoint and OneNote.
    Just commercial version includes all classic menu programs: Word, Excel, PowerPoint, OneNote, Outlook, Publisher, Access, InfoPath, Visio and Project 2010.
    It is at http://www.addintools.com/office2010/index.html .
    The free edition is not allowed to be used for commercial.

  14. Pingback: buy office professional 2010,microsoft office professional plus 2010 product key,buy Microsoft Office 2007 Enterprise Product Key,buy office professional 2010,microsoft office professional plus 2010 product key,buy Microsoft Office 2007 Enterprise Product·

  15. What a fantastic add-in! i have been looking for such an add-in for a long time. Actually the ribbon of Office 2010 do get me down. i cannot find out he commands in the right place where i used to work .

    Thanks to the Classic menu for office 2010, and thanks for the provider addintools. No complicated setting, very user-friendly.

    It is really an awesome app in helping me.

  16. I just switched to a Mac. Is there a way to have the 2003 looks in the 2011 Mac version?

  17. black background sucks

    please remove crap like
    buy office professional 2010,microsoft office professional plus 2010 product key,buy Microsoft Office 2007 Enterprise Product Key,buy office professional 2010,microsoft office professional plus 2010 product key,buy Microsoft Office 2007 Enterprise Product Says:
    23/09/2011 at 00:10

    buy office professional 2010,microsoft office professional plus 2010 product key,buy Microsoft Office 2007 Enterprise Product Key,buy office professional 2010,microsoft office professional plus 2010 product key,buy Microsoft Office 2007 Enterprise Pr…

    [...]make office 2010/2007 look like office 2003 (menu style) « ilyes on demand[...]…

  18. This is an awesome application. :) Is there a way to get the incremental inch count on the bottom of the Word 2003 screen onto the Word 2010 screen? Where it says 2.1, 2.2″ 2.3″ etc.? I notice Word 2010 doesn’t have that counter on the bottom.

  19. Pingback: Global market Social Network, Worldwide professional and Business Community site·

  20. Pingback: webdesign·

  21. Pingback: Sitecheaper.com | Cheap Website Services·

  22. Pingback: скачать музыку вконтакте·

  23. Pingback: Blog politik Malaysia·

  24. Pingback: How to manage finances·

  25. Pingback: Скачать музыку·

  26. I am disappointed. Although I get 2003 menus, I get only some 2003 key functions.

    If I pay for a product like this, I want the entire classic interface, not merely unpredictable portions of it.

  27. I have installed the version for Home and Student. I had installed another add-in to show classic menus. Few file did not copy during the installation.

    I do not see any changes in the menus. Am I missing something?

  28. Many thanks… Glad to have the good old 2003 version back. F Microsoft and 2010!!

  29. “Menus” is actually a submenu on the ribbon so there is no space saving because the ribbon is still on when it is in use.
    Your menus need to be where the Home, Insert, etc. menus are and the ribbon disabled completely.
    The font and sixe need to be changeable independently of MS’s poorly implemented menu font scaling.
    The ribbon is not a timesaver and I will never get used to scanning arcane symbols for functions I will never use because MS does not provide it as an option. Even Photoshop uses text menus.

  30. I absolutely love the idea of this but have two questions:

    1. Does this allow you to customise the toolbar; add new toolbars, copy & paste button images & assign macros to them, assign macros to replace existing commands on button images etc. as you used to be able to do with Office 2003 (on Excel mainly) on a PC?
    2. Does this work with Office 2011 for Macs?

  31. I was excited to find this page. I want to to thank you for your time for this particularly wonderful read!! I definitely loved every part of it and i also have you book-marked to check out new stuff on your web site.

  32. I was extremely pleased to discover this great site. I need to to thank you for your time for this particularly wonderful read!! I definitely really liked every part of it and I have you bookmarked to look at new things in your web site.

  33. Nice post. I used to be checking constantly this blog and I am inspired!
    Extremely useful info specially the closing section :
    ) I handle such information a lot. I used to be looking for this
    certain info for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  34. Hello there I am so grateful I found your website, I really
    found you by accident, while I was browsing on Yahoo for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a tremendous
    post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I
    have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the excellent b.

  35. Hi there all, here every one is sharing these
    kinds of experience, therefore it’s nice to read this web site, and I used to visit this web site every day.

  36. That is a great tip particularly to those fresh to the blogosphere. Short but very precise information… Thanks for sharing this one. A must read post!

  37. Wow! Thanks guys for all of the great comments. FYI – I did NOT create this application, I am only letting people know how to use it and what it office will look like afterwards! Enjoy!

  38. I believe you have remarked some extremely interesting details , thankyou for the post.

  39. I tried to use the link for Office 2010 today (21 December 2012 ) and got a Page 404 error. Has the link been dropped/broken? I am fed up with the Office 2010 ribbons and want to get back to the ‘old’ look and feel.

    from a Grumpy Old Man

  40. Thanks payment sent and downloaded – just waiting now on my license key

  41. I really had been browsing for techniques for my blog site and uncovered ur blog, “make office 2010/2007 look like office
    2003 (menu style) blog de cultavix”, do you really care if perhaps
    I employ a number of of your concepts? Appreciate
    it ,Adalberto

  42. I have just installed this and it works great. Thank you Jay, I am very pleased to have ditched those awful ribbons. What was Microsoft thinking?

  43. Spot on with this write-up, I seriously think this web site needs much more
    attention. I’ll probably be back again to read through more, thanks for the info!

  44. Thank you for this. I am a Word 2003 user. I have customized it to make it work properly. I have created many custom toolbars. I have resisted moving up to Word 2007 or 2010 (and considering that in regard to the ribbon, moving up is a term like diarrhea, a term used loosely.)

  45. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Any way I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

  46. We’re a gaggle of volunteers and starting a brand
    new scheme in our community. Your web site provided us with valuable info to work on.
    You have performed a formidable activity and our entire group will likely
    be grateful to you.

  47. Is there a product that brings back the “Ctrl” commands (Such as for Copy “Ctrl X”) and help shortcuts such as F1 in the menus. Although it is GREAT that such products exist it would be nice to have a program that finishes the job and shows these shortcuts because subconsciously I do remember them over time. So a menu with these features would help.

  48. Merely a smiling visitor here to share the love , btw outstanding style. Audacity, a lot more audacity and always audacity. by Georges Jacques Danton. dcebddcakgce

Leave a Reply

